Friday, February 28, 2014

{Blog Tour+Giveaway} Peaceful Genocide: J.A. Reynolds

Rating: 9.5/10
Series: Peaceful Genocide #1
Genre: Science Fiction, Thriller, Science Ficiton, Young Adult
Publication Date: November 25, 2013
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing
Page Count: 282
Source: Xpresso Book Tours
Format: Digital Review Copy
Recommended For: Fans of Ender's Game, Hunger Games, Partials, The Barcode Tattoo & any hardcore science fiction
Links: Amazon|Goodreads

Goodreads Synopsis: 
“Reminiscent of Ender’s Game, the tension ratchets up with every test...nicely Done.” Publishers Weekly  

Seventeen-year-old Mitzi and Deuce can recall how many drops of water were on a leaf from a rainstorm five years ago and conversations from last week, month, or year. They have the ability to remember every second of everyday—since birth.

This gift has blessed Mitzi with a history of being sexually assaulted by researchers and abused by her own parents. She trusts no one. Likes no one. Deuce, however, is a high school standout. His gift has made him a superstar on the football field and his memory promises him endless opportunities.

When they both end up at an Alzheimer’s research facility under false proviso, they quickly realize this place isn’t what it seems to be. They endure crazy military-style tests, are forcefully drugged, and complete real-life simulations that haunt them.

Mitzi and Deuce have no idea what the researchers want to do with them or their memories. But one thing is clear: the researchers will go to any lengths to get what they want.


AUTHOR BIO: Blog|Twitter|Facebook|Goodreads
JA Reynolds lives in the Midwest with a normal family, raising a normal daughter, with some abnormal pets. It’s extraordinarily ordinary.


*I was given this book for a blog tour which does not in the slightest affect my honest review of this book*

My Background: I have this problem where I binge sign-up for blog tours, and most of the time, afterjust  skimming the synopsis, and looking at the cover. So my blog tours books usually never end up as my "Top Book of {insert year here}". That is NOT the case with Peaceful Genocide. I cannot tell you how much I loved this book. I take myself as a serious reviewer, but there have been so many 5 star books lately. That is a really good thing, but it also set me up with this book for failure, but nevertheless I loved it.

Plot 9/10: O.M.G. The plot of this book was amazeballs, and left me reeling after every virtual page turn. There was so much involved in it. 
The fake 'Alzheimer’s research facility' (you can bet I had to copy-and-paste that) that turned into so much more. 
The super-computer Paisley, Ralph, Mitzi, and Deuce had to help create. 
The emotional baggage and experience everyone had undergone because of their memories.
The constant scrutiny of the research study.
The implants in their brains.

It would probably take me pages to write everything that happened. The main point I want to convey is that 'Publisher's weekly' is so correct. I don't want to spoil anything, but so much of the emotional damage and messing-up of all the students in Battle School, reflect what happens in the research facility. I don't want to even know what happens in J.A. Reynolds wonderfully twisted mind which caused her to come up with the plot, circumstances, and occurrences that happen in this book.

I do want to warn people that this book is in the upper Young Adult genre of literature, because of Mitzi's circumstances and multiple uses of the F-bomb. This shouldn't deter you, but is just a 'before-you-read' warning.

Characters 10/10: In so many dystopian/science-fiction books, the characters are what let me down, but Peaceful Genocide has some of the best characters I have ever read about. One of the main characters, Mitzi was the most believable, and well-developed I have ever read about. In most dystopian/science-fiction books, the characters put on some type of front, and barrier between them and the rest of the world for some reason like being an orphan. Mitzi was left completely to fend for herself. Her childhood was spent being used and abused by the people that were supposed to protect her. Mitzi's father beat her, Mitzi's mother was a drunk. They made her participate in study-after-study, just for the money.

Mitzi was already a hard person, but the emotional turmoil and strength she had to have to endure what she did was incredible. Most people would have died or cracked under the circumstances, but she didn't, despite having to live her whole life in fear of being with people. She was taught by her own father not to trust anyone, for crying out loud. I can't tell you had admirable she is, and how she goes through actual change as a character. 

A lot of those heart-warming, fuzzy, chick flicks are about the bad boy who got into trouble because he had never learned to love, but because of miracle girl (x-in this equation), he turns into a good human being. 
There is none of that (excuse my language) crap.

Mitzi is an actual bruised and battered human being who has never been loved. And let me remind you why all of this happened in the first place, because she is such a genius with photographic memory, an IQ of 186, she speaks six languages, and a hec of a lot more. 

Deuce ain't no dumb-jock. (Giselle probably thinks she's gotten an uneducated gang member to write this review, but it's the solid truth)

Deuce is your seemingly classic highschool football star that is just doing the study for money for college. At a glance, basically Troy Bolton form High school Musical with football. But he has amazing memory (like the other four in the study), physical strength, and true leadership qualities as someone who always does 'what's best for the team'. At the same time, he's so compassionate and good-hearted to everyone, especially Mitzi who needs it the most.

Romance 9.5/10: Again, in so many dystopian/science-fiction books, the romance ends up being a cliche love triangle. First of all, there isn't a love triangle for which I am so greatful for. Second of all, it took forever for Mitzi and Deuce to get together. The first time they kissed was in a stimulation 75% into the book. This was no love-at-first-sight because of Mitzi's inability to trust along with a whole culmination of other factors. This romance took time, was very well developed, and the two of them look perfect. I'm not sure if you have watched the movie Pacific Rim, but Mitzi and Deuce remind me so much of Mako Mori and Raleigh Becket (if those are the wrong names, it's because I watched the movie last summer and inferred from IMDb). It was mostly because of Mako's blue hair, but it was also because of her dark past. Deuce and Raleigh were both so macho-man types of guys, but with en extremely sweet compassionate side.

Cover & Title 6/10: Some people may be very hesitant to read this book because of the cover and the title. I'm saying this because my mom freaked out over the title. I'm usually considered as a person with a high-ish vocabulary, but I didn't actually know what 'genocide' meant. When I did, I was almost as horrified as her, especially because the word 'Peaceful' was inserted in front of it. (The whole freaking out thing happened to the characters too)   

Writing Style 8/10: For a large portion of the book, I wanted Peaceful Genocide to be written in first person, but realized it sounds a lot better the way it is. The complexity and character dynamics would have been too confusing if divided into two voices. I do have to point out that there were some simple grammatical and spelling errors, simple turning "it's" to "it is" and an array of minor mistakes like that.

Ending 8/10: The initial ending of the storyline was a little cliche, but the events that closely followed were what the phrase 'WTF' comes from. You will be extremely shocked at the revelations and revelations that occur.

Conclusion: This is one of the best, hands down, book I've read in 2014, and the definition of true science fiction about a world that could be happening right now with an incredible cast of characters.



{Promotional Post} A Strange Kind of Familiar: Hannah Harvey