Monday, September 21, 2015

Never Always Sometimes : Adi Alsaid | BookTalk w/ @sslluvsbooks

Rating: 66%
Series: None
Genre: Contemporary, Romance, Realistic Fiction, Fiction, Young Adult,
Publisher: HarlequinTeen
Publication Date: August 4, 2015
Page Count: 308
Format: Hardcover
Source: Library


Goodreads Synopsis: Never date your best friend.

Always be original.

Sometimes rules are meant to be broken.

Best friends Dave and Julia were determined to never be cliché high school kids—the ones who sit at the same lunch table every day, dissecting the drama from homeroom and plotting their campaigns for prom king and queen. They even wrote their own Never List of everything they vowed they’d never, ever do in high school.

Some of the rules have been easy to follow, like #5, never dye your hair a color of the rainbow, or #7, never hook up with a teacher. But Dave has a secret: he’s broken rule #8, never pine silently after someone for the entirety of high school. It’s either that or break rule #10, never date your best friend. Dave has loved Julia for as long as he can remember.

Julia is beautiful, wild and impetuous. So when she suggests they do every Never on the list, Dave is happy to play along. He even dyes his hair an unfortunate shade of green. It starts as a joke, but then a funny thing happens: Dave and Julia discover that by skipping the clichés, they’ve actually been missing out on high school. And maybe even on love.


Disclaimer: On Loving the Language of Literacy, the term "BookTalk" refers to a thorough review of the novel plus a spoiler-filled discussion. 

Who Would I Recommend This Book To?
Fans of Morgan Matson, Emery Lord, Robin Benway, Jenny Han & Rainbow Rowell

Background & Backstory?
I actually didn't intend to read this but was in the mood to get out of my school-induced reading slump, so I picked this up for a quick cutesy contemporary.

What Was My Reaction Upon Finishing?
Seriously?


Plot | 80%
Premise | 67%
Characters | 50%
Romance | 60%
Originality | 90%
Cover | 75%
Title | 55%
Feels | 40%
Writing Style | 57%
Pacing | 70%
Ending | 60%

How Likely Is It That I Will Read Another Book By This Author?
45% | I'm not certain I'll read Let's Get Lost simply because the feedback hasn't been stellar but I'll consider it if I'm in the mood for a road trip novel.

Conclusion: Never Always Sometimes was a cute, diverse contemporary with well an unpredictable, well-developed plot and characters.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...