Friday, August 7, 2015

More Than Fashion (Chasing the Dream #3): Elizabeth Briggs | Book Review w/ @sslluvsbooks

Rating: 63%
Series: Chasing the Dream #3
Genre: New Adult Romance
Publisher: Elizabeth Briggs
Publication Date: July 28, 2015
Page Count: 223
Format: eBook
Source: Elizabeth Briggs


Goodreads Synopsis: They’re enemies who will do anything to win...including each other.

When pre-med student Julie Hong wins a spot on a fashion design reality TV show, she celebrates by picking up a hot English guy in a hotel bar. But too many drinks leads to a night of embarrassment and a major hangover, and wow is she glad she’ll never see him again.

Until the show starts, and he’s on it too.

Julie quickly realizes she’s out of her league among the other designers, and Gavin Bennett, with his cocky grin and sexy accent, is her biggest competition. Julie can't decide if she wants to kiss him or kill him. Or both.

After she’s almost kicked off, Julie convinces Gavin to pretend they’re sleeping together for the camera. The ploy works, but as they get closer to the show’s finale their fake relationship starts to become too real. But only one of them can win the show—and they might both end up heartbroken.


Reviews of Previous Books in the Series

Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. This is a new adult novel with some sexual content.

Who Would I Recommend This Book To?
Fans of Colleen Hoover, Cora Carmack & J. L. Armentrout

What Was My Reaction Upon Finishing?
*squeals* I'm so happy for Julie and Gavin!

I have been an avid fan of Briggs since last summer when I participated in the More than Music blog tour and have kept up with the series as each installment has been released. I simply could not break tradition with More than Fashion. Each novel delivered on exactly what every New Adult novel should with an overarching plot, well-developed characters, and a tantalizing romance.

I have watched Project Runway a few times and Briggs successfully modeled Behind the Seams with the same finesse as The Sound (which was modeled after The Voice). It did get tedious at time as each garment was described the competitive process repeated multiple times throughout the book but Briggs handled this the best she could.

Something Elizabeth Briggs should be commemorated on for all of her novels is her distinct effort to include diverse situations as well as characters. Who says new adult has to only be angst between two smoking hot characters? There have been multi-racial characters interspersed throughout the entire series and many cultures represented.

What I felt was lacking throughout the novel IN COMPARISON to Chasing the Dream's previous installments were the characters. You felt so engrossed and invested in Maddie's, Kyle's, Hector's, and Tara's lives but I just didn't feel the same way with Gavin and Julie. Nevertheless, their story was entertaining and Briggs did not disappoint with the steaminess factor. One characteristic of Julie that I sincerely enjoyed and respected along the lines of diversity was the fact that she was unapologetically into guys and sex. Obviously this isn't everyone's thing but it's a natural thing and she accepted that's who she is.

Conclusion: Elizabeth Briggs has written another excellent installment in the Chasing the Dream series with plenty of angst, steamy times, and sexy characters - perfect for your New Adult Beach Read.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...