Friday, June 6, 2014

{Blog Tour+Giveaway+Review} The Golden Cage: Kaitlyn Davis


goldencage (1)



 

The Golden Cage (A Dance of Dragons #0.5) by Kaitlyn Davis

Description: 
From bestselling author Kaitlyn Davis comes a fantasy adventure perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Graceling, and Game of Thrones.

In the land of Ourthuro, cruelty is a way of life. The king rules with an iron fist and no one dare defy him--no one except his daughter. Princess Leena is keeping a dangerous secret, she has fallen in love with a soldier and it would mean both of their lives if her father ever discovered their affair. But Leena will risk it all to be with the man she loves--her heart, her life, her freedom. And when her brother's birthday celebration takes a dangerous turn, Leena is forced to make a decision that will change the fate of her nation and eventually the world. The Golden Cage is a prequel novella to The Shadow Soul (A Dance of Dragons #1)--available now!


Goodreads


Free Novella:
Amazon | B&N | Apple | Smashwords

Author Bio:
Kaitlyn Davis is the bestselling author of the Midnight Fire series, a young adult paranormal romance, and

the A Dance of Dragons series, a young adult epic fantasy. Kaitlyn graduated Phi Beta Kappa from Johns Hopkins University with a B.A. in Writing Seminars. She's been writing ever since she picked up her first crayon and is overjoyed to finally share her work with the world. She currently lives in New York City and dreams of having a puppy of her own.


Author Links:
Website | Facebook | Twitter | Tumblr | Wattpad | Goodreads

Giveaway:

 a Rafflecopter giveaway


Disclaimer: I received this book from CBB Book Promotions in exchange for an honest review. On another note, I apologize for any weird formatting of this post because I am currently on vacation and can't fix any formatting bugs.
Onto the review. I normally don't read novellas, as in the last one was probably "Double Crossed" by Ally Carter. My point is that I don't usually read novellas. Nevertheless, I signed up for this blog tour, and here I am.
 
While The Golden Cage had a plot line that seemed to be a classic, involving forbidden love between two people of different social statuses. I sincerely enjoyed the it. I am aware that it is a prequel to The Shadow Soul, but I haven't read it yet, so I can't tell you if it made any difference or impacted the overall story arc. What I can tell you is that I want to now read The Shadow Soul because I have read The Golden Cage.
 
The story itself is something I would almost guess is from a picture book. The novel is less than 100 pages, but it provides a defined exposition, rising action, climax, falling action, and resolution like a good little story. Yet, it seems along the lines of a springboard or launch pad for TSS. I was captivated by the setting and various descriptions in TGC. It seems like common sense, but in a number of stories I have read recently, the details were lacking.
 
The characters and romance of TGC were another plus for myself because in the few pages I read, I became connected to both Mizka  and Leena. I actually felt empathy for the lovers situation, and routed for them throughout the story. Don't ask me why I routed for them, because I would quite like to have Mizka and his swoon factor all to myself.
 
"Mizka's arm wrapped firmer around her waist, lifting her to the ends of her toes. He was tall and lean, but strong and perfectly fit to her body. They molded together like water, with a thud grace. As he moved, so did she."
 
 
What I found unique about TGC were the tattoos the people had, and how they were visual representations of people's social classes. I had never previously heard anything along those lines, and the concept fascinated me. I suppose it is similar to someone wearing a Marc Jacobs watch, or Jimmy Choo shoes, but the tattoos seemed so personal, permanent, and IN YOUR FACE. People's tattoos define their identity, history, lives, and individuality. It seems so unlike what we, as a society, would ever do, but beautiful, and a sign of full devotion.
 
Continuation: 80% One of the perks of signing up for this tour was an eCopy of TSS, and because of Summer Vacation, I will definitely pick it up some time so I can continue with the world Davis has created.
 
Conclusion: I sincerely enjoyed The Golden Cage considering I don't normally read novellas and want to read the sequel because of the rich world building, likable characters, and unique remise.



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...